Time flies when you’re having fun(doing what I love and how it affects my life)

I don’t know if I said this before, but I work for Take-Two interactive; also known as 2K games. If you still don’t know the company,Really!? Ever hear of GTA, Bioshock, Borderlands, NBA2K? Exactly. I don’t bring up the company to brag, well maybe in a little way I do, but it’s more to explain what this blog post will be about today. How doing something I love changes my day. 

In the past, I would wake up every morning dreading the thought of going to whatever company I was slaving for, at the time. I did not enjoy working at some of these companies and it took a toll on how my days progressed. Working at a job that you don’t enjoy or love can also cause problems with your health. I would get these debilitating illnesses that doctors couldn’t explain. 

It didn’t take long before I figured out that it was my job that was causing me these problems. I had to find something different, but I couldn’t think of a job using my experience, twenty years administrative and business management experience, that wouldn’t cause stress. I still had a family that I needed to feed, but my health was telling me that I probably should look for other options. 

I took some time to think about what else I was capable of and the fact that I loved video games was one of the first things that popped in my mind. Sure writing is my passion and I have been doing it since the age of 9, but I didn’t want to trust in writing to get us through those hard times. Not then. I took a leap of faith and trusted in my love of gaming. The gamble paid off. I was able to work in a pretty cool company with some awesome people. 

Doing something I love makes my day go faster. It’s like the moment I feel the day starting to get a little long, it’s time to go home. The hours just fly by, time seems to rush me away from my desk. It is a bit bothering to be one of the older people working at my job. I’m like some kind of real life Vince Vaughn story, but these young people make the job fun. 

I was watching Lebron James play in the finals last week and the one thing that kept jumping out at me, was the fact that this kid has grey hair in his beard. I’m a lot older than King James and I don’t have a grey hair anywhere. I started to think, ‘Does Lebron really love his job?’ I love my job and it shows in my life. My hopes are the same for this next phase in my life and the next gamble. Hopes that I can enjoy the same kind of joy, doing the thing that continues to nag at me every day. 

Leave a Reply

