Two months in.(How the second month of writing has gone,sorry for being late.)

I reached the second month of writing for public consumption on the 14th of July and I must tell you guys things have been hectic. This is not an easy endeavor, trying to gain renown takes a lot more than what’s written in books or shown in movies. The writing world is enormous. For every successful writer in the world, there are many more that never make it. Knowing this, I set out on a path that I believe will help me reach this lofty goal. 

Reaching my second month has shown me that I have a long way to go but it can be done. I’ve met a lot of talented authors while enjoying this journey, some very talented, some others cause me to question the very choice they’ve made. The writing world is a welcoming community, but it can be a harsh beast to its neophyte authors. 

I’ve learned so much just building a following on social networks and from blogging. I’ve learned that the reading world is starving for new stories, even while authors are feeding them as much as they have. People still want more. I’ve garnered a nice following on twitter(and some unfollowers) many looking for stories that can be told in a new way. 

Working towards such a loft goal has given me many rewards. I’m getting more attention from the writing world with this work. There are a lot of people looking for fresh blood in the writing world, though I’m not really fresh but I’m new to the world and its being noticed. I’ve had several offers for my work, but not the offer I’m interested in. I appreciate every one, feeling better about my decision with every one I reject. 

I haven’t found the true path to writing but after two months of doing what I am, I can honestly see a path. Reaching my goal will not be easy, it takes time, fortitude and yes some talent but I’m on a path that will guarantee my success. This journey won’t be easy, it’s going to take a lot of work. Which is why this blog is late. I have so much work to do and there’s just so many hours in a day. It’s funny when you know the answer to your problems but you just can’t fix them. 

I’ve also had some bad experiences within the last two months. Let’s be honest, we all know that the Internet is full of some terrible people, but what I’ve seen so far makes me worry for my children. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not so bad that things can’t change but spirit be, does everything have to be marketed, racist, or down right immoral. I actually had someone argue with me about how a victim can be to blame for being a victim. I, of course, was all to happy to explain to this person the error of their ways but I’m sure he is just one of many. 

The greatest experience I’ve had over the past two months is the followers of this wonderful blog that I’m writing right now. The fact that people are interested in what I have to say, amazes me. I set out doing something never expecting one person but are always surprised by what I can accomplish. It’s a true confidence builder. 

If I’ve learned anything over the last two months, it’s that I have something to contribute to this world. Somehow you forget that as you grow older. When you’re young there are so many things that you plan for, things you hope you will do and that you never plan to do. Aging has a way of changing those plans. For me, it’s a ticking bomb. These last few months have solidified me. They show me that I can achieve my goals, but the ticking clock looms. The harbinger of things that are truly guaranteed, chases behind me as I pursue these lofty dreams. I can only focus, put my head down and do the work.  

Leave a Reply

