Quote Wednesday (Words of advice to get you past hump day.)

Only in men’s imagination does every truth find an effective and undeniable existence. Imagination, not invention, is the supreme master of art as of life.– Joseph Conrad

If I don’t write to empty my mind, I go mad. As to that regular, uninterrupted love of writing. I do not understand it. I feel it as a torture, which I must get rid of, but never as a pleasure. On the contrary, I think composition a great pain.-Lord Byron

Composition is, for the most part, an effort of slow diligence and steady perseverance, to which the mind is dragged by necessity or resolution, and from which the attention is every moment starting to more delightful amusements.-Samuel Johnson

After all, most writing is done away from the typewriter, away from the desk. I’d say it occurs in the quiet, silent moments, while you’re walking or shaving or playing a game, or whatever, or even talking to someone you’re not vitally interested in.-Henry Miller

My idea is always to reach my generation. The wise writer writes for the youth of his own generation, the critics of the next, and the schoolmasters of ever afterward.-Unknown Source

For a country to have a great writer is like having another government. That’s why no régime has ever loved great writers, only minor ones.-Alexander Solzhenitsyn

An author ought to write for the youth of his own generation, the critics of the next, and the schoolmasters of ever afterwards.-Unknown Source

My own experience is that once a story has been written, one has to cross out the beginning and the end. It is there that we authors do most of our lying.– Anton Chekhov

 

I have been successful probably because I have always realized that I knew nothing about writing and have merely tried to tell an interesting story entertainingly.– Edgar Rice Burroughs

The more closely the author thinks of why he wrote, the more he comes to regard his imagination as a kind of self-generating cement which glued his facts together, and his emotions as a kind of dark and obscure designer of those facts. Reluctantly, he comes to the conclusion that to account for his book is to account for his life.– Richard Wright

Leave a Reply

