If there is no time(Making priorities in your day to day.)

First, let me apologize for the missed blog post last week. Things are going pretty fast with independent work and it is becoming increasingly difficult to find time for all the things I am juggling. Which rolls right into the post I wanted to do last week, that I’m doing today. Finding time for the things that YOU want to do, 

I know I’m not telling anyone something new when I say, there are twenty-four hours in a day. Seven to nine of those hours are used to sleep. I myself find that I can function remarkably well off of seven hours of sleep. That being said there are at least fifteen hours to get what you need done. This of course depends on what you do in a day but barring any unforeseen issues; fifteen hours are what we are given to work with. 

With fifteen hours, a person can figure out a lot to do in a day. Now it is true, many of us work jobs that take a good ten hours of your day away, but if you’ve read any of my post, then you know I am all for making anything that isn’t paying you what you consider you are worth, a job you don’t need. Your time is precious. Just think about this. We have a certain number of hours given to us in this life. Working a job that you do not find interesting, entertaining or desirable, is a disservice to you. 

With all of that being said, my reason for writing today is to make each of us, myself included, recognize that with the time given we must prioritize things that we must do against things that we want to do. For example, I love this blog, it is my baby and I believe, my ultimate marker of what I have accomplished so far. Now that’s not saying I don’t have other things going on, no. My blog is a way to gauge my writing and to better understand what needs to be done. It’s a want, a desire that I hold dear and try with everything in me to build up. Get it to a point where it can become my priority and the things I currently use as income, a forgotten trial. 

Doing this is hard. There are so many things that we have to do daily and I find that when I have free time, or time that isn’t set aside for some goal, becomes time wasted. Nothing productive has occurred, those hours and often a day, is wasted. It happens to the best of us. We finish with one goal, then say ” What do I do next?” 

There should never be a time when that question has room to grow. If you’re not where you want to be in life, that time can be spent doing something that gets you closer to it. Each minute spent doing nothing, is a minute stolen from something that you want to do. 

As I write this, I still have a great amount of work left on my work table, but I am not worried. Working on my time management allows me to recognize that the work can be done in intervals, or instances, for my MMO friends and readers. When timing my goals for the day I use intervals to promote greater promotion and completion of goals. Example, when I want to post things to my twitter account, which is @washthompson3 for those who have not followed. I use a twenty minute timer to get the post that I want out for the day. I know, some of you might be saying, “Twenty minutes is nothing.” Wrong. I can get all of my post for the day scheduled and ready in that amount of time. Of course, I do use management apps like “Hootsuite” to monitor and manage my account, but I take the time to do every bit of work that is needed in those twenty minutes. 

I’m not saying that my time plan works for you, No. I don’t know your time and the things you do in your day but I do know that a lot of us have an issue with management of the time given and I believe that prioritizing the things we need to do over the things we want to do will assist you with productivity. 

Again, I am not an expert, I am just a writer who takes the time to write about what is happening or what I see every day. This is by no means a bible or guide book on what should be done. Hell, I’m not even a good enough writer to have a blurb in the Bible but I am an author, independent contractor and someone who spends a lot of his time trying to figure out how to make my day to day easier. I hope this helps some of you and if it didn’t please comment why below. Have a great week and I will speak to you guys again on QW. 

Image source: Storypedia

Leave a Reply

