One year in(Does it get easier?)

Saturday was the one year anniversary of me starting this blog. It has been a long journey and I have learned a lot along the way. I have garnered a small amount of readers and I feel that it is a great start, now it’s not the start I was hoping for, no. When I started this blog I had a crazy dream that I would write the first blog and people would fall down loving the first word. I’m sure all writers have had this feeling when writing but I just thought something different.

Writing this blog has been a labor for me, trouble sometimes but often it’s a labor of love. Writing this has helped me view my strengths and weaknesses, gauge what needs to be changed in my ability with the craft. Saying that, today is not about my anniversary, no; today I want to just talk to you guys about what the next year will hold.

I did a lot of research before starting my blog, I mean a lot of research. I checked the websites, the blog pages, read some things and used what I could from what I read. I tried writing about some of it on this blog but it didn’t spark much interest in me and I believe that’s why it didn’t do anything for you guys.

One of the blogs I read stated that you should write what you know, write what interest you. I find this to be a very hard proposition. For one thing, the subject I feel I know fairly well is writing, I can’t write a blog about writing. I know, people do it all the time but I am not other people. I could talk about how hard it is to write, but what is the point of that? I don’t want to be serious with you guys, I worked several jobs that were all business and I guess that’s why I can’t have a blog about writing.

Writing for me is a joy and taking the serious route would not be enjoyable to me, what about you guys? I have placed a few of my stories on here, they were not finished; hell, they weren’t even edited. The problem with placing stories online is that anything you put online is considered published. That’s bad for me because of contest. People who run writing contest have this stupid but understandable rule that any work placed online is published work and as such cannot be used in contest. Yeah, I’m sure some of you knew this, if you didn’t; you heard it here first.

Yeah, that’s right, it sucks for me. It sucks because I write a healthy amount of stories and sharing my stories is really what interest me. I mean sure, I would love to get paid for them but I want to enjoy writing for writing. I do not want to be George R.R. Martin, though he has incredible talent and I think his stories are great but I can’t imagine having a reader of my stories waiting with baited breath for my next installment in a series. Don’t get me wrong, I long for the day when readers are excited and waiting for a story I have written, just not to the point that Martin has with his Thrones series. I don’t want fans waiting around for years to reach the end of my stories, that would upset me more than my readers because I read my stories as well and I would hate to read a story that doesn’t come to some kind of conclusion.

So, my plans for posting edited and ready to go stories on my blog will happen, just some time in the future. I enjoy writing the support or advice blogs I’ve written. They have caused a bit of interaction and received a few likes but it still doesn’t get me that desired contact, the reason that I’m writing this blog. I know there are some serious limitations when interacting with WISEwords on WordPress and I plan on fixing that this year. Besides that guys, there isn’t to much else to say. This post is getting long, so, the only thing left to say is, thanks to the few who have taken the time to read my blog, it wouldn’t even be a blog without you guys. I have some other things I’m thinking of writing, so look for those in the coming weeks and months.

Oh and one last thing. I was given the idea that I should repost the post that got the most attention and I think it’s a good idea. I wrote a lot last year, so that could take a few days, I’m thinking Friday, just post the links to the top ones. They may be edited, it has been some time and I have become better at my craft, so, what you liked before may be gone, who knows. Anyway, all of today’s post was and is to say. I enjoy writing this blog, I enjoy having you guys read it, thanks for your time and attention, enjoy the rest of your Monday and I will talk to you on QW.

Leave a Reply

